Feng Shui and Psychology: Messages to Our Subconscious

Posted on Updated on

heart2-300x275Feng Shui has a lot to do with psychology and helps to decipher some messages our subconscious receives from the outside. Everything around us, in our apartment, work place, and environment in general is a symbol that sends us a message. Our subconscious keenly accepts those messages and shapes our attitudes and expectations accordingly. Normally we do not notice nor analyze the connection between the received messages and their influences on our psyche. And this is exactly what Feng Shui does.

Feng Shui studies the symbolism of the surrounding us objects and situations and the way these situations influence our emotions, habits and behavior. The reason we set ourselves up for failure or good luck fully depends on the surrounding us environment and how our subconscious interprets its messages.

For example, there is a saying “Opportunity comes through the front door”. Reflecting on it, I realize that I tend to get to my job through back alley rather than via the main street. What kind of message am I sending to myself? How does it reflect in my subconscious? That I am not worthy to use the main street? That somehow I have to sneak in? That I am avoiding direct ways and tend to do things in round about fashion?

Or, let’s say, my door lock is broken, paint is chipped and corridor is cluttered. By using the door every day, I get a repetative message of insecurity, exposure, anxiety and poverty. Thoughts like ‘I hope my neighbors do not know about my broken lock and would not break in” cross my mind. My emotions provoke images of lost opportunities, the need to hide something, to pretend (that lock is functioning and I am safe). Pretention becomes the means to achieve illusory security, pretending becomes my habit and a principle of my behavior. Moreover, new opportunities cannot come in because there is not enough space for them. I feel suffocated, depressed and overwhelmed. These images become part of my self representation and affect my life on the deepest level.

In my next example, I would like to show a possible psychological solution to the problem. I have a beautiful drawer in my bedroom. It is spacious and has rounded edges (good Feng Shui!). I got it from my cousin who is coming from a dysfunctional family and managed to create a dysfunctional family of her own (bad Feng Shui!). The drawer shelves do not open smoothly and get stuck when I try to close them (bad Feng Shui!). I have to apply force, I feel annoyed and irritated. But sometimes I am mindful about the fact that the drawer is broken and try to handle it with great care and tenderness. I am not up to buying a new drawer right now; therefore, treating broken things with attention and care is the best way to save the situation. This way my subconscious gets a different message: not annoyance and irritation, but respect and loving care.

As we see, I can try to ajust my attitude instead of adjusting environment and fixing what is broken. However, in the situation like this Feng Shui says: fix it A.S.A.P. Do not let yourself get poisoned by the images of dysfunctionality and poverty.

Generally, “bad Feng Shui” is the code name for everything that sends destructive and discouraging messages to our subconscious and creates negative images. Exposed beams over our head, heavy shelving, and huge dark paintings create impression of burden, dominance, and even danger. The furniture should be proportional to the size of our body. We tend to perceive any object smaller than us as a child, bigger than us – as an enemy, and equal – as the opposite sex. That’s why Feng Shui advises to have furniture not taller than out waist line and not hang anything heavy above our head, especially in the bedroom.

There are two principles of Feng Shui that have to be kept in mind when remodeling the bedroom. They are: balancing out and pairing up. Masculine, dominant, active and bright energy Yang has to be balanced out by feminine, submissive, passive and dark Yin. However, Yin must prevail over Yang in the bedroom.

All objects in the bedroom have to be paired up to send a respective message to your subconscious: there is a pair for everything and everybody. There is a pair for you too! There are two cute mandarin ducks, two night stands, two similar paintings, two sides of the bed, two bed rugs, two vases, pillows, lamps, candles, etc.

According to another Feng Shui principle, the objects in any part of your home can be arranged in a cycle of creation, or production. Wood nourishes Fire; Fire creates ashes and Earth; Earth produces Metal; Metal melts into liquid and Water; Water nourishes Wood. Therefore, an object corresponding to the element of Wood needs to be followed by an object related to the element of Fire, which needs to be followed by objects representing the elements of Earth, Metal, and Water. The cycle of production sends a positive message to our subconscious and programs it to create and flourish.

We can use the following objects for our bedroom:

Wood: a jade tree, bamboo, a painting of a plant. If it is a real plant, make sure to place far from your bed. Main colors are green, brown, and purple.

Fire: a candle or a lamp. The main color is red or its shades.

Earth: quartz, crystal, clay statuettes, main colors are brown and skin tones.

Metal: a vase of jewelry, a clock or a metal figurine. Main colors are black and silver.

Water: a picture or a painting of fish and water. Fish also symbolizes fertility and abundance. Main colors are white and blue.

Do not overuse the element of Wood in bedroom decor. According to Feng Shui, bedroom belongs to the South Western section, which is ruled by the Earth element. Earth is weakened by Wood, but is nourished by Water and Metal. You can place metal figurines or jewelry on the wood furniture and hang paintings of fish and water.

Leave a Reply

